Our Four Favorite Ways to Start Your Ceiling Fan Buying Process

Best Ceiling Fans Reviews – Simplify Your Ceiling Fan Buying Experience

Finding the right ceiling fan can be the crowning jewel of a beautiful home. Whether you are building a brand new home, remodeling, or if you just want to give your home a little face lift, finding the best ceiling fans for your home is imperative. Our goal at Best Ceiling Fan Reviews is to make your buying experience easy.

If you are specifically looking for a ceiling fan that is modern, rustic, contemporary or any other style for that matter, you can easily browse and read reviews by style from the navigation bar. If you need ceiling fans for a specific use, you can browse and read reviews about fans for specific uses as well. If you have a certain color in mind, we’ve got options to help you find that too. You get the idea.  No matter where you are in your fan buying process, our reviews and browsing process can make things significantly easier.

If you are starting from the very beginning, we recommend browsing by uses or taking a look at some of our favorites below.

Our Top Choices for Best Ceiling Fans

 

Our Best PicksOur RatingSizePriceOur Reviews
Haiku Home L Series4.9/552"Get PriceReview
Hunter 53242 Builder Elite4.8/552"Get PriceReview
Quorum Lighting - 97215-864.8/572"Get PriceReview
Hunter 53069 Low Profile III4.7/552"Get PriceReview
Minka-Aire F518-WH4.6/544"Get PriceReview
Hunter 53091 Builder Deluxe 5-Blade4.6/552" Get PriceReview
Minka-Aire F844-SL4.5/552"Get PriceReview

Why a Ceiling Fan is an Important Investment

Ceiling fans are an important investment in any home. Not only does a ceiling fan tie a room together if it is chosen correctly, it also serves an extremely important function. Choosing the right ceiling fan for your home is a combination of style and function. Obviously you want to choose a fan that fits the decor style and color, but at the same time you need the right fan to perform the proper function. Here are some examples of why you need to look at form and function:

If I was typically a hot sleeper and I chose a small fan with low speeds that didn’t push a lot of air because of how it looked, I would be meeting the stye aspect of purchasing the right fan, while at the same time completely missing the boat for the function aspect. My bedroom would look good, but I would not be sleeping comfortably.

If I had a room in my house where people gathered often that had less than ideal lighting, I would be looking for a fan that could circulate a good amount of air to keep people cool, and I would also be looking for something that had a bright light fixture attached. If I was also energy conscious I would probably be looking for a ceiling fan with LED lights. Again, if I only looked at the form of the fan, or in other words the way that it matched the room, I could be missing out on the comfort and convenience that the right ceiling fan can provide. On the other hand, if I only looked at the function, the fan could make the room look horrible.

Balancing form and function is all about starting your search in the right place. That is why we created Best Ceiling Fan Reviews. We recommend starting with function and finding the right form.

How to Start the Fan Buying Process

There are few things more frustrating in the ceiling fan buying process than thinking that you found the perfect fan only to realize that it won’t work for the purpose you intended. Whether you find a fan that looks awesome for your back porch only to realize that it is an indoor fan or you find a fan that looks perfect for your living room only to find out that it is a 72″ industrial fan, it is always frustrating to have to go back to the drawing board to find the perfect ceiling fan. Here are seven steps to finding the best ceiling fans to fit your needs:

 

  1. Start with the purpose in mind
  2. Know how much room you have to work with
  3. Decide if you want lighting or not
  4. Narrow down your color options
  5. Decide on the number of blades
  6. Evaluate the warranty
  7. Choose your fan

 

Start with the Purpose in Mind

 

When we say start with the purpose in mind, we are talking about classifying the use of your ceiling fan in a very broad category during the early stages of the process. You need to know if this will be an indoor fan for your home, an outdoor fan or an industrial fan. Another important factor in determining the purpose is imagining the different settings you will be using the fan in. For example, if you am installing a fan in your bedroom and you will be controlling the fan from your bed on a regular basis, it might be nice to have a remote controlled indoor fan.  The purpose of a ceiling fan is always to be able to circulate air as well as possible in a given space. In order to come to a realistic understanding of the air we can move, we need to know how big our fan can be.

 

Know How Much Room You Have to Work With

 

Ceiling fans range in size from about 24″ to 80″ so it is important to understand the space constraints your room has. When I say space constraints for a ceiling fan, I am not necessarily talking about physical constraints. You can also set size constraints based on appearance. For example, if I am looking for a new fan for my living room, I may very well have 72″ of ceiling space to deal with, but at the same time that could look horrendous. In that situation I would definitely not want a fan that big. Defining your space restraints for your ceiling fans will make the buying process much easier on you.

 

Decide if You Want Lighting or Not

 

While they are not extremely common anymore, they do still make fans that don’t have lights. It is also important to note that many people think that they are going to like a fan with no lights, but they later find that they think it looks silly. You need to decide if you are looking for a ceiling fan with lights, or a ceiling fan without lights.

 

Narrow Your Color Options

 

Narrowing down what you are going to be using your fan for, how much room you have to work with and whether or not you want your fan to have lighting, you have more or less covered the function of the fan. Once you have solidified function you can start looking at the form of the fan. We suggest starting to narrow the look of your fan by color options. Choose a couple color options that compliment the rooms that the fan is tying together. We suggest not getting to narrow with the color yet, unless there is only one color that fits well with the room you are purchasing your ceiling fan for.

 

Decide on Number and Shape of Your Fan Blades

 

Two aspects that contribute significantly to the look of the fan are the number and shape of the blades. The number of blades can range anywhere from 2 to 15. The typical ranges are 2 to 6 blades, but with windmill fans becoming more and more popular, this introduced a significantly higher number of fan blades.

Fan blades also come in various shapes from square blades to round blade to pointed blades and anything in-between. Different shapes of blades have different looks as well as different advantages with circulation so keep that in mind when buying your ceiling fan.

 

Warranty

 

Always look for a fan with a good manufacturers warranty. Some fans have no warranty at all, while others have
limited lifetime warranties. You can also find fans anywhere in-between. Some ceiling fan manufacturers will have
longer warranties for certain parts of their fans than others. Warranty is important when finding the best ceiling
fans for your project.

 

Choose Your Fan

 

Obviously this step does not need any further explanation.

This ceiling fan buying process works well for most people. However, some people start with a brand in mind which
changes the buying process.

Starting With a Specific Brand

It may be surprising to some people that many people are loyal to a ceiling fan brand because of the quality they have experienced with that brand in the past. If you fall into this category, Best Ceiling Fan Reviews makes the process easy for you as well. You can easily browse and read reviews by brand which can help you start your narrowing process. If you don’t have a brand in mind, here is our list of 10 of the most popular ceiling fan brands along with a quick overview of the pros and cons of each company:

 

  1. Hunter Ceiling Fans
  2. Hampton Bay Ceiling Fans
  3. Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fans
  4. Minka Aire Ceiling Fans
  5. Casablanca Ceiling Fans
  6. Emerson Ceiling Fans
  7. Kichler Ceilng Fans
  8. Westinghouse Ceiling Fans
  9. Casa Vieja Ceiling Fans
  10. Quorum Ceiling Fans

Hunter Ceiling Fans

Hunter is by far the most popular ceiling fan brand. Hunter has earned its reputation through making great products that are reasonably price, and by offering great customer service along with an outstanding warranty.

Hampton Bay Ceiling Fans

Hampton Bay is also a popular brand of ceiling fan. They also make great products that usually come with a remote control. This combination of quality and convenience is what has earned Hampton Bay ceiling fans their reputation.

Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fans

Harbor Breeze has earned its reputation in the ceiling fan business by making unique modern ceiling fans that provide both quality and beauty. Harbor Breeze fans typically come with a remote and usually have a good warranty as well.

Minka Aire Ceiling Fans

Minka Aire make some of the most unique and beautiful ceiling fans available. Their ceiling fan options are considered by many to be the perfect finishing touch to any room in the house.

Casa Blanca Ceiling Fans

Casablanca boasts fnas are great for someone looking for the perfect finishing touch to a room. Casablanca fans focus on beauty and they definitely hit the mark.

Emerson Ceiling Fans

Emerson makes a wide variety of ceiling fans at an extremely affordable price. You can find almost any style and size of fan available made by Emerson.

Kichler Ceiling Fans

Kichler fans are middle of the road when it comes to price, but they offer beautiful fans of all types at a very reasonable price. Whatever you are looking for, you can probably find it with a Kichler Ceiling Fan. Read our Kichler Reviews.

Westinghouse Ceiling Fans

If you are looking for low cost, Westinghouse ceiling fans are right for you. With a majority of their fans priced below $150 they are by far the most affordable. Read our Westinghouse Ceiling Fan Reviews.

Casa Vieja Ceiling Fans

Casa Vieja fans get great reviews from customers. They have a number of beautiful colors and designs to compliment almost any room in your home. Read our Casa Vieja Reviews.

Quorum Ceiling Fans

Quorum Fans are known for being beautiful and unique. They receive excellent ratings and are absolutely beautiful. Read our Quorum Ceiling Fan Reviews..

Starting The Ceiling Fan Buying Process With a Style in Mind

Because people typically want to match their ceiling fan with their room decor, it is normal for someone to start their fan buying process with a specific style of fan in mind. If your house is extremely modern, you are probably going to want a modern fan. If you have rustic decor, you are going to want a rustic ceiling fan. We have put a number of reviews together for ceiling fans of all different styles. If you know what style you are looking for, click the link below to browse reviews for fans of that style.

Modern

Hunter is by far the most popular ceiling fan brand. Hunter has earned its reputation through making great products that are reasonably price, and by offering great customer service along with an outstanding warranty.

Rustic

Hampton Bay is also a popular brand of ceiling fan. They also make great products that usually come with a remote control. This combination of quality and convenience is what has earned Hampton Bay ceiling fans their reputation.

Windmill

Harbor Breeze has earned its reputation in the ceiling fan business by making unique modern ceiling fans that provide both quality and beauty. Harbor Breeze fans typically come with a remote and usually have a good warranty as well.

Contemporary

Minka Aire make some of the most unique and beautiful ceiling fans available. Their ceiling fan options are considered by many to be the perfect finishing touch to any room in the house.

Commercial

Casablanca boasts fnas are great for someone looking for the perfect finishing touch to a room. Casablanca fans focus on beauty and they definitely hit the mark.

Tropical

Tropical ceiling fans add a nice flare to any room and can conjure some emotions similar to being on a tropical island. Let’s be honest, who doesn’t wan that? Browse some of our tropical fan reviews and suggestions.

Low Profile

Low profile ceiling fans are less ornate than many ceiling fans. They are smooth and sleek. They look nice when you notice them, but they are intended to tie a room together rather than playing a bigger role in the decoration of a home.

Vintage

Vintage fans are made to look like they are older. Some are older, but some are new and just made to look as though they fit the style from 50-60 years ago. Vintage is typically made to look like something that was top of the line 40+ years ago. Browse our vintage ceiling fan reviews and suggestions.

Brushed Nickel

Brushed nickel ceiling fans are very popular. Brushed nickel is essentially a dull metal. This is very popular in a lot of homes. It fits with the contemporary style very well and often matches some of the higher end finishes available for homes. Browse our brushed nickel fan reviews here.

Dual

Dual ceiling fans are a very stylish add-on to any room. They feature two separately rotating blades and are great for high volume air flow. Browse our dual fan reviews and suggestions.

Steampunk

Steampunk ceiling fans are intended to combine technology and aesthetics. Think science fiction meets design. Want to see some steampunk options? Browse our reviews and suggestions for steampunk fans.

Oscillating

Oscillating ceiling fans can be pointed in different directions and some even move automatically. This allows for them to circulate air through different parts of the room. See our oscillating fan reviews and suggestions.